Green Grass Syndrome

grass Pictures, Images and PhotosHaving homeschooled now for over 15 years, I know what it is to always see greener grass in someone else’s classroom. We’re always sure someone else is doing it better. We’re always sure our children will surely lack something because of an item we’ve missed. We’re always sure there is something else we should be doing, but probably aren’t.

Take a look at a clip from a talk I did in Atlanta, Georgia. When you first see my face you may think…What is going on with this woman? Is she in pain? Is she giving birth?  And why can’t she find a better fitting jacket. Well…the jacket never improves much. But the pained expression does pass. It’s just my social marketing consultant’s idea of a funny place to do a stop-frame on my video. Push play as quickly as you can and it soon will progress into something less frightening.

So, if you enjoyed this video, then subscribe to my channel for future mayhem.

Tags: , , ,

7 Responses to “Green Grass Syndrome”

  1. Sarah Says:

    Carol,
    I’ve been wanting for a whole year to somehow let you know how much your gifted writing has helped me. But one of the most wonderful things lately is how much I laugh out loud EVERY time I read one of your Sizzler updates or blog entries. You are a kindred spirit for me on the web.
    I did watch the link and laughed out loud once again. Then I watched the other short link where you mentioned wishing your son could talk when he was born. Get this: My sweet (Sizzler) son Sam is famous everywhere we go for being the most humorous, personable, adult-like conversationalist around — church, AWANA, grocery store, you name it — of course they don’t see him at home, which is a whole different story. But when he was, at 2.5 years old, getting very, very frustrated at still not being able to talk, we did 9 months of very intensive speech therapy for him. We still feel we did God’s will in this. And I’ll tell ya, my husband and I laugh about it every now and then because of the gift of communication he has now!
    Thank you for being THE best encouragement I can find about how to help my family thrive.
    May God Bless You,
    Sarah

  2. Becky Says:

    this is so true…

  3. Shannon Says:

    Hi Carol-
    I love your blog & books. I had the chance to here you speak last summer in Modesto, Ca. It’s so refreshing to know I’m not the only one out there with a little sizzler.
    I gave you a blog award-
    http://homeschoolingtheirhearts.blogspot.com/2010/04/sunshine-award.html

  4. renelle Says:

    Hi Carol,
    I just found you! yey. I felt my spirits lift a little and thoroughly enjoyed your talk. I have a sizzler I guess, as he doesn’t stop talking. Ds8 has been diagnosed Aspergers. I look forward to more posts. Thanks for the encouragement and I wished you travelled my way for a conference. Homeschooling in Australia is still pioneer territory. Take care

    • carolbarnier Says:

      Thanks for connecting! I’m hoping to travel your way some day too. Seeing Australia is on my before-I-die list. 🙂 In the meantime, see you round Blogville.

Leave a comment